Kazak’s Picks: March 2021

Clockwise from top left: Be Sweet by Japanese Breakfast (Jubilee album artwork), Control by Mannequin Pussy (Perfect EP artwork), Open Eyes by Duendita (photography by Sandy Ismail (@sandyiism), art by Bailey Elder), and Utsurou by Lycoriscoris (Chiyu album artwork)

These are the hottest tracks of the last month. Any track that was released as a single or as part of an album in March was eligible for inclusion (which is why you might see some tracks that first emerged last month or in 2020).

WARNING: All tracks and their accompanying videos are completely uncensored. A number of them contain explicit language that is unsuitable for children, NSFW topics and images, discussions of potentially triggering subjects, and/or political commentary that may offend.

Apple Music


Tracks listed in order they appear in playlists above. For reviews of a selection of the tracks featured click here.

Mette – Petrified (Pop)

Jungle – Keep Moving (Funk/Pop)

BROCKHAMPTON – BUZZCUT (feat. Danny Brown) (Rap)

New Pagans – Harbour (Alternative)

Duendita – Open Eyes (R&B/Soul)

Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak) – Leave the Door Open (Soul/Pop)

Genesis Owusu – Drown (feat Kirin J Callinan) (Indie Pop)

Norf Face – Baitest Sound (Grime/Rap)

Noga Erez – Cipi (Pop)

Japanese Breakfast – Be Sweet (Indie Pop)

Elkka – Burnt Orange (Dance/Ambient)

Middle Kids – Questions (Indie Rock)

Nappy Nina & JWords – Real Tea (feat. Stas THEE Boss) (Rap)

Kylie Minogue – Real Groove (feat. Dua Lipa) [Studio 2054 Initial Talk Remix] (Pop/Dance)

Nubiyan Twist – Ma Wonka (feat. Pat Thomas) (Jazz)

Hiatus Kaiyote – Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai) (Indie Pop/R&B)

Fimber Bravo – Can’t Control Me (World/Electronic)

Mr Twin Sister – Expressions (Funk/Disco)

CHIKA – Fairy Tales (feat. BJ The Chicago Kid) (Rap)

Luna Li – Cherry Pit (Indie Pop)

Perfume Genius & A.G. Cook – Describe (A.G. Cook Remix) (Electronic)

Astra King – Silver (Alt Pop)

Junodream – Travel Guide (Indie Rock)

IAN SWEET – Sword (Indie Rock)

Yatabe – Pretty Truth (Majestic Remix) (Dance)

ZULI – Bro! (Love It) (Electronic/Experimental)

Valerie June – Call Me a Fool (Singer-Songwriter)

DVNE – Mleccha (Metal)

Chance デラソウル (CHANCE DE LA SOUL) – Ready For This (Dance/Plunderphonics)

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson – Viscosity (Indie Rock/Spoken-Word)

The Anchoress – Show Your Face (Rock)

Lana Del Rey – White Dress (Singer-Songwriter)

Jane Weaver – The Revolution of Supervisions (Indie Pop)

Lily Konigsberg – Owe Me (Pop/Electronic)

Armand Hammer & The Alchemist – Scaffolds (Rap)

Mykki Blanco – Free Ride (Alt Pop)

Mannequin Pussy – Control (Alternative)

Lycoriscoris – Utsurou (Dance/Electronic)

L’Impératrice – Fou (Disco/Pop)

L’Rain – Two Face (Neo-Psychedelia/Art Pop)

Honourable Mentions

Aesop Rock – Long Legged Larry (Rap)

Alice Phoebe Lou – Dirty Mouth (Indie Pop)

Aly & AJ – Pretty Place (Pop)

Another Michael – New Music (Singer-Songwriter)

The Antlers – Wheels Roll Home (Indie Rock)

Bachelor – Stay in the Car (Indie Rock)

Bill Wurtz – I’m a Princess (Indie Pop)

Black Midi – John L (Noise Rock)

Calboy – Miseducation (feat. Lil Wayne) (Rap)

Central Cee – 6 for 6 (Rap)

CFCC – Life is Perfecto (Electronic/Indie)

Crumb – Trophy (Rock)

Dawn Richard – Jacuzzi (Electronic/R&B)

Drake – Lemon Pepper Freestyle (feat. Rick Ross) (Rap)

DUDA BEAT – Mêu Pisero (Pop)

Emotional Oranges – Body & Soul (feat. Biig Piig) (R&B/Pop)

Erika de Casier – Drama (R&B)

Ethel Cain – Crush (Indie Rock)

Everything Everything – SUPERNORMAL (Rock)

Eydís Evensen – Dagdraumur (Classical Crossover/Ambient)

Fatima Al Qadiri – Malaak (Experimental)

Floatie – Shiny (Indie Rock)

Flock of Dimes – Hard Way (Electronic/Indie Rock)

For Those I Love – I Have a Love (Electronic/Spoken-Word)

Glaive – i wanna slam my head against the wall (Pop)

Guedra Guedra – Seven Poets (Dance/Afrofuturism)

Hikaru Utada – One Last Kiss (J-Pop)

KANGA – Moscow (Industrial/Electronic)

L’objectif – Drive in Mind (Indie Rock)

Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name) (Pop/Rap)

Lim Kim – MAGO (Electronic)

Lucy Dacus – Thumbs (Singer-Songwriter/Indie)

Lushlife – Redamancy (Rap/Electronic)

Lusine & Loraine James – Retrace (Loraine Jame Remix) (Electronic)

Nasty Cherry – Her Body (Pop)

Overmomo – Pieces of 8 (Dance)

P Money & Silencer – This Year (Grime)

Pixey – Electric Dream (Pop)

Poté – Young Lies (feat. Damon Albarn) (Electronic)

Quadeca – Sisyphus (Rap/Electronic)

Really From – Yellow Fever (Indie Rock)

Rich Brian – Sydney (Rap)

Rosali – Mouth (Singer-Songwriter)

Saba – Ziplock (Rap)

Snapped Ankles – Rhythm Is Our Business (Indie Rock)

Squid – Paddling (Prog Rock)

Throwing Snow – Brujita (Electronic)

Trance Wax – Rayna (House)

Tune-Yards – hypnotised (Indie Pop)

Wyldest – Hollow (Indie Rock)

Yaw Tog, Stormzy & Kwesi Arthur – Sore (Remix) (Rap)

YUNGMORPHEOUS & ewonee – Fistfulofgreens (Rap)

© The Baying of Kazak 2021. All rights reserved. All opinions (except those directly attributed to a third party) are the author’s own.

The content found in this site may not be used or replicated without the express permission of the author.

Images featured should not be used or reproduced without the express permission of the copyright holder of the material.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: