Kazak’s Picks: January 2021

Clockwise from top left: ACTION by CHAI (WINK album artwork), End of the Road by Noga Erez (KIDS album artwork by Dudi Hasson), Sundial by Bicep (single artwork by Studio Degrau), and Emotion by Molly Burch (single artwork)

These are the hottest tracks of the last month. Any track that was released as a single or as part of an album in January was eligible for inclusion (which is why you might see some tracks that first emerged last year).

WARNING: All tracks and their accompanying videos are completely uncensored. A number of them contain explicit language that is unsuitable for children, NSFW topics and images, discussions of potentially triggering subjects like domestic violence, and/or political commentary that may offend.

Apple Music


Tracks listed in order they appear in playlists above. A review of each track can be found here.

YOUHA – Abittipsy (K-Pop)

Arlo Parks – Caroline (R&B)

Noga Erez – End of the Road (Pop)

The Weather Station – Atlantic (Indie Rock)

Pom Poko – Like A Lady (Indie Rock)

Saweetie – Best Friend (feat. Doja Cat) (Rap)

Bicep – Sundial (Electronic/Dance)

Norvik – City (Modern Classical/Instrumental)

Dayglow – Close to You (Pop)

Lana Del Rey – Chemtrails Over the Country Club (Singer-Songwriter)

Jazmine Sullivan – Pick Up Your Feelings (R&B)

Ashnikko – Deal With It (feat. Kelis) (Pop)

YOASOBI – Gunjo (J-Pop)

The Antlers – Solstice (Indie Rock)

Slayyyter – Troubled Paradise (Pop)

Nilotika Cultural Ensemble – Kekusimbe (Instrumental/Afrobeat)

Observe Since 98 – Clyde Drexler (feat. Monday Night & Ru$h) (Rap)

Selena Gomez – De Una Vez (Reggaeton)

Shame – Water in the Well (Post-Punk)

Yubin – Perfume (K-Pop)

Lost Horizons – Marie (feat. Marissa Nadler) (Alternative)

Beach Bunny – Good Girls Don’t Get Used (Indie Rock)


Westside Gunn, Smoke DZA & Wale – The Hurt Business (Rap)

Goat Girl – Sad Cowboy (Indie Rock)

tUnE-YaRdS – hold yourself. (Indie Pop)

Smerz – Believer (Electronic)

Kiwi Jr. – Undecided Voters (Indie Rock)

Run The Jewels – ooh la la (Mexican Institute of Sound Remix feat. Santa Fe Klan) (Rap)

Half Waif – Orange Blossoms (Alternative)

Molly Burch – Emotion (feat. Wild Nothing) (Pop)

Kessler – Moonlight Branches (IDM/Electronic)

Cassandra Jenkins – Hard Drive (Singer-Songwriter)

Cheekface – Original Composition (Indie Rock)

BAEKHYUN – Get You Alone (K-Pop)

Th1rt3en & Pharoahe Monch – 666 (Three Six Word Stories) (Rap)

Yu Su – Melaleuca (Electronic)

Julien Baker – Hardline (Singer-Songwriter)

serpentwithfeet – Fellowship (feat. Sampha & Lil Silva) (Electronic)

Honourable Mentions

Adult Mom – Sober (Alternative)

Alfa Mist – Run Outs (Jazz)

Alostmen – Do Good (feat. Medikal) (Akan Music/Modern Roots)

Aly & AJ – Listen!!! (Pop)

The Anchoress – The Art of Losing (Rock)

Atarashii Gakko! – NaiNaiNai (Pop)

Beautify Junkyards – Reverie (Indie Pop)

Billie Marten – Garden of Eden (Singer-Songwriter)

Billy Nomates – Heels (Electro-pop)

Blanck Mass – Starstuff (Single Edit) (Electronic)

Django Django – Glowing in the Dark (Electronic/Dance)

Emeka Ogboh – Danfo Mellow (Electronic)

FKA Twigs, Headie One, Fred again.. – Don’t Judge Me (Electronic)

Gabe ‘Nandez – Ox (Rap)

(G)I-DLE – HWAA (English Version) (K-Pop)

Grandbrothers – Unrest (Electronic/Instrumental)

Haru Nemuri – Bang (Rock)

IAN SWEET – Drink the Lake (Indie Rock)

Insides – It Was Like This Once, It Will Be Like This Again (Ambient)

ITZY – Dalla Dalla (English Version) (K-pop)

Juice WRLD & Young Thug – Bad Boy (Rap)

Kirin J Callinan – Dumb Enough (Indie Rock)

Lancey Foux – Steelo Flow (Rap)

Lexie Liu – CAROUSEL (Pop)

Madlib – Hopprock (Rap/Instrumental)

Madeline Kenney – Truth (Dream-Pop/Indie)

Nasty Cherry – Lucky (Pop)

New Pagans – Christian Boys (Rock)

R.A.P Ferreira – Diogenes On the Auction Block (Rap)

Renée Reed – Fast One (Folk)

Squid – Narrator (Rock)

Sweet Trip – Walkers Beware! We Drive into the Sun (Dream Pop)

Tamar Aphek – Crossbow (Alternative)

Trztn & Karen O – Hieroglyphs (Electronic)

U-KNOW – Eeny Meeny (K-Pop)

N.B. Come in Closer by Rhye has been temporarily removed from this list following accusations of sexual assault, domestic violence, and grooming a minor (https://pitchfork.com/news/rhye-michael-milosh-accused-of-sexual-and-physical-abuse-by-ex-wife-issues-denial/)

© The Baying of Kazak 2021. All rights reserved. All opinions (except those directly attributed to a third party) are the author’s own.

The content found in this site may not be used or replicated without the express permission of the author.

Images featured should not be used or reproduced without the express permission of the copyright holder of the material.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: