Kazak’s Picks: February 2021

Clockwise from top left: Hey Nari by Altın Gün (YOL album artwork), Look What You’ve Done by Zara Larsson (Poster Girl album artwork courtesy of Artist Company TEN / Epic Records), Jayu by Se So Neon (single artwork), and Oil Slick by Puma Blue (In Praise of Shadows album artwork)

These are the hottest tracks of the last month. Any track that was released as a single or as part of an album in February was eligible for inclusion (which is why you might see some tracks that first emerged last month or in 2020).

WARNING: All tracks and their accompanying videos are completely uncensored. A number of them contain explicit language that is unsuitable for children, NSFW topics and images, discussions of potentially triggering subjects, and/or political commentary that may offend.

Apple Music


Tracks listed in order they appear in playlists above. A review of each track can be found here.

Flyte – Under the Skin (Indie-Pop)

Allie X – GLAM! (Pop)

Victoria Monét – F.U.C.K. (R&B)

Ghetts – No Mercy (feat. Pa Salieu & BackRoad Gee) (Grime)

SG Lewis & Lucky Daye – Feed the Fire (Disco/Dance)

The Staves – Best Friend (Folk/Indie Pop)

Rostam – These Kids We Knew (Indie Rock)

Django Django – Right the Wrongs (Indie Rock)

JID & Denzel Curry – Bruuuh (Remix) (Rap)

CHUNG HA – Flying on Faith (Pop)

P Money & Silencer – Trouble (Grime)

Ol’ Burger Beats & Vuyo – Schengen Visa (Rap)

Rakky Ripper – Whatever (Pop)

Sofia Kourtesis – La Perla (Dance/Ambient)

Katy Kirby – Peppermint (Indie Rock)

Odette – Herald (Pop)

Brijean – Daydreaming (Dance/Psychedelic)

Se So Neon – Jayu (Rock)

Noname – Rainforest (Rap)

Altın Gün – Hey Nari (Psychedelic Rock)

Bodies of Water – Never Call Me Again (Indie-Pop)

The Hold Steady – The Feelers (Rock)

Psymon Spine – Jumprope (Indie Pop)

Aukai – Cleave (Folk/Instrumental)

Miss Grit – Blonde (Rock)

Laura Mvula – Green Garden (1/f Version) (Pop/R&B)

Big Ghost Ltd., Conway the Machine & D-Styles Toast (Rap)

The Weather Station – Parking Lot (Indie Rock)

Puma Blue – Oil Slick (Electronic)

Samantha Crain – Bloomsday (Singer-Songwriter)

Gojira – Born For One Thing (Metal)

Zara Larsson – Look What You’ve Done (Pop)

José González – El Invento (Singer-Songwriter)

Cloud Nothings – Nothing Without You (Rock)

Frederik Valentin – Butterfly (Electronic/Ambient)

Nana Yamato – Do You Wanna (Electronic)

Alice Longyu Gao, Mura Masa & Bülow – She Abunai (Pop)

Your Old Droog & Tha God Fahim – Mailman (Rap)

Gordi & Alex Lahey – Dino’s (Indie Rock)

Lizzie Reid – Cubicle (Folk/Singer-Songwriter)

© The Baying of Kazak 2021. All rights reserved. All opinions (except those directly attributed to a third party) are the author’s own.

The content found in this site may not be used or replicated without the express permission of the author.

Images featured should not be used or reproduced without the express permission of the copyright holder of the material.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: