Kazak’s Picks: April 2021

Clockwise from top left: What Do You Stand For by Low Island (If You Could Have It All Again album artwork by Evelin Van Rei), Afrique Victime by Mdou Moctar (album artwork by Robert Beatty), Duo by Sam Gellaitry, and Fata Morgana by Ochre (An Eye to Windward album artwork)

These are the hottest tracks of the last month. Any track that was released as a single or as part of an album in April was eligible for inclusion (which is why you might see some tracks that first emerged in previous months or in 2020).

WARNING: All tracks and their accompanying videos are completely uncensored. A number of them contain explicit language that is unsuitable for children, NSFW topics and images, discussions of potentially triggering subjects, and/or political commentary that may offend.

Apple Music


Tracks listed in order they appear in playlists above.

Little Simz – Introvert (Rap)

Years & Years – Starstruck (Pop/Dance)

Wolf Alice – Smile (Rock)

Sam Gellaitry – Duo (Pop)

anaiis – juno (Singer-Songwriter/R&B)

Tkay Maidza – Syrup (Rap)

Dry Cleaning – Scratchcard Lanyard (Post-Punk)

SuperM – We Do (K-Pop)

The Armed – An Iteration (Hardcore)

Mr Jukes & Barney Artist – Blowin Steam (Open Up Your Mind) (Rap)

Nasty Cherry – What’s the Deal (Pop)

Mdou Moctar – Afrique Victime (Rock)

Skullcrusher – Steps (Folk)

Dawn Richard – Boomerang (Dance/R&B)

LAUREL – You’re the One (Pop)

Hus KingPin – Quiet Fires (Rap)

Low Island – What Do You Stand For (Alt-Pop/Electronic)

Bugzy Malone – Salvador (Grime/Rap)

Spellling – Little Deer (Pop/R&B)

Ochre – Fata Morgana (Ambient/Electronic)

Flock of Dimes – Price of Blue (Indie Rock)

Conway the Machine – Grace (feat. Jae Skeese) (Rap)

Jessie Ware – Please (Pop/Dance)

Tierra Whack – Link (Rap)

Gaspard Augé– Force Majeure (Dance/Disco)

Rata Negra – Venid a ver (Punk)

Dua Saleh – Signs (Rap)

Kareem Ali – Como Me Siento Por Ti (Electronic/Dance)

Zahara – berlin U5 (Pop)

Ryley Walker – Striking Down Your Big Premiere (Indie Rock)

Khalab & M’berra Ensemble – The Western Guys (Desert Blues/Afrofuturism)

Nick Waterhouse – Very Blue (Soul/Singer-Songwriter)



Freddie Gibbs – Big Boss Rabbit (Rap)

Balmorhea, Jesy Fortino, Jonathan Sielaff & Jason Treuting – The Crush (Classical/Instrumental)

Mike – Evil Eye (Rap)

Daniel Avery – Endless Hours (Electronic)

Dizzy – The Bird Behind the Drapes (feat. Luna Li) (Singer-Songwriter)

Kero Kero Bonito – Well Rested (Dance/Pop)

Honourable Mentions

Tracks listed in alphabetical order.


Alfa Mist – Teki (Jazz)

Aly & AJ – Symptom of Your Touch (Pop)

Andra Day – Phone Dies (Pop/R&B)

Angel Olsen – Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling) (Singer-Songwriter/Orchestral)

Anjimile & Jay Som – In Your Eyes (Reflection) (Singer-Songwriter/Classical)

Anz – Unravel in the Designated Zone (Electronic/Dance)

Arooj Aftab – Suroor (Chamber Folk/Classical)

Art d”Ecco – Head Rush (Indie Rock/Glam Rock)

Ashe – I’m Fine (Singer-Songwriter)

Avelino – Demons (Rap/Grime)

Backroad Gee, TizzTrap, & BG – A Yo (Rap/Grime)

Ballaké Sissoko – Kora (Feat. Camille) (Mande Music)

Billie Eilish – Your Power (Singer-Songwriter)

Billie Marten – Creature of Mine (Singer-Songwriter)


CHAI – Let’s Love (Disco/Pop)

Chynna – burnout (Rap)

Cities Aviv – A Million Smiles (Rap)

Cold Cave – Night Light (Indie Pop)

Cory Hanson – Bird of Paradise (Singer-Songwriter/Indie)

cupcakKe – Mosh Pit (Rap)

Dead Nature – Red Clouds (Indie Pop)

Desperate Journalist – Fault (Indie Rock)

DUDA BEAT – Nem um Pouquinho (feat. Trevo) (Pop)

Ekin Fil & Ella Zwietnig – Uneven (Ambient/Instrumental)

Faye Webster – Cheers (Indie Rock)

Fickle Friends – Cosmic Coming of Age (Pop)

Fiona Apple – Love More (Indie)

Flyte – Easy Tiger (Singer-Songwriter)

Francis of Delirium – I Think I’m Losing (Rock)

girl in red – Serotonin (Indie Pop)

GOJIRA – Grind (Metal)

GOTHAM (Talib Kweli & Diamond D) – The Quiet One (feat. Busta Rhymes) (Rap)

Gus Dapperton – Palms (feat. Channel Tres) (Pop)

Hildegard – Jour 1 (Electronic/Experimental)

Hooveriii – Cindy (Rock/Psychedelic)

Howie Lee – The Door of Aspiration (Electronic/Chinese Classical/Jazz)

iLe – No Es Importante (Singer-Songwriter)

illuminati hotties – Mmmoooaaaaayayay (Indie Rock)

Japanese Breakfast – Posing In Bondage (Indie Rock/Ambient)

Jayda G – All I Need (DJ Kicks) (Dance)

JGREEY – Down (R&B)

Jorja Smith – Gone (R&B/Pop)

Julia Stone – Break (Indie Pop)

Kareem Ali – They Can’t Stop Us (House)

Kings of Convenience – Rocky Trail (Folk/Singer-Songwriter)

Kučka – No Good For Me (House/Pop)

Lake Haze – Sun Rising on Concrete Landscape (Electronic)

Leon Vynehall – An Exhale (Electroni/Experimental)

Litany & Oscar Scheller – Playlist (Pop)

Lord Apex – Speak For Yourself (Rap)

Lydia Ainsworth – Sparkles & Debris (Pop)

Merk – God (Indie Pop)

MICHELLE – Fyo (feat. CHAI) (Indie Pop)

Misty Coast – In a Million Years (Indie Rock)

Myd – Call Me (Pop/Funk)

Natalia Lafourcade & Pepe Aguilar – Cien Años (Singer-Songwriter/World)

Olivia Rodrigo – deja vu (Pop)

Overcoats – The Hardest Part (feat. Tennis) (Indie Pop/Singer-Songwriter)

Patrick Paige II – Big Plays (Rap)

PONY – WebMD (Rock)

Quruli – I Love You (Art Pop)

Rostam – Changephobia (Indie Pop)

Self Esteem – I Do This All The Time (Pop)

Slayter – Cowboys (Pop)


Weyes Blood – Titanic Risen (Ambient)

© The Baying of Kazak 2021. All rights reserved. All opinions (except those directly attributed to a third party) are the author’s own.

The content found in this site may not be used or replicated without the express permission of the author.

Images featured should not be used or reproduced without the express permission of the copyright holder of the material.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: